PLEN Turned 40!

Thank you for  joining us

Thank you to everyone who was able to be with us for this truly memorable and inspiring evening to celebrate PLEN’s past, present, and future.

In case you missed it, we launched the #PLENPower Mentor List: our newest program designed to connect PLEN alumnae around the country with women policy leaders who have agreed to make themselves available for informational interviews, coffees, and speaking engagements. We encourage you to become a mentor or subscribe to the list today!

If you didn’t have a chance to contribute to our Alumnae Scholarship Fund, please consider making a donation to enable even more women to attend PLEN’s important programs.

For four decades, PLEN has been preparing women for public policy leadership. Whether this means opening up their eyes to possible careers, training them to negotiate their first salary, or helping them build the networks and confidence to get ahead, PLEN has been there to help young women forge their own path as leaders. Our year-long celebration highlighted PLEN's rich history within the women's movements for equality, showcased prominent alumnae, and looked back at the impact we've made while continuing to break down barriers for future women leaders.



Carmen Twillie Ambar, President, Oberlin College, co-chair • Nancy Dietz, Former Senior Consultant, Coxe Curry & Associates, co-chair • 
Lynn Smith Fox, Former Senior Adviser, Federal Reserve Board, co-chair
Marianne Alexander, Founding Executive Director • Allison Aubrey, Correspondent, NPR* • Esther Barazzone, President Emerita, Chatham University • 
Ambassador Charlene Barshefsky, Senior International Partner, WilmerHale • 
Lara Brown, Director, George Washington University Graduate School of Political Management • Susan Carroll, Professor, Rutgers University • 
Carol T. Christ, Chancellor, UC Berkeley• Julie Conway, Executive Director, VIEWPAC • Kathee Facchiano, Chief of Staff, Office of Congressman Clay Higgins* • 
Laurie Halverson, Assistant Minority Leader, Minnesota House of Representatives* • Allison Herwitt, Chief of Staff, Office of Senator Chris Murphy* • 
Mary Hinton, President, College of St. Benedict • Valerie Jackson, Senior Director, Global Diversity & Inclusion, Procore Technologies • 
Celinda Lake, President, Lake Research Partners • Cherylyn Harley LeBon, Entrepreneur and Founder, KLAR Strategies • 
Meaghan Lynch, Press Secretary, Office of Senator Kamala Harris • Ruth Mandel, Director, Eagleton Institute of Politics• 
Diana Marrero, Vice President, Strategic Partnerships, Foreign Policy • 
Veryl Miles, Professor of Law, Columbus School of Law at The Catholic University of America • 
Ambassador Constance A. Morella, Ambassador in Residence, American University School of Public Affairs • 
Georgia Nugent, President Emerita, Kenyon College • Kristy Pagan, Member, Michigan House of Representatives* • 
Anna Palmer, Senior Washington Correspondent, POLITICO • Lisa Marsh Ryerson, President, AARP Foundation • 
Luiza Savage, Editorial Director of Events, POLITICO • Lidia Soto-Harmon, CEO, Girl Scouts of the Nation's Capital • 
Caryl Stern, CEO, UNICEF USA • 
Ambassador Linda Thomas-Greenfield, Distinguished Resident Fellow in African Studies, Institute for the Study of Diplomacy at Georgetown University


Representative Joyce Beatty (D-OH-03) • Representative Cheri Bustos (D-IL-17) • Representative Suzan DelBene (D-WA-01) • Senator Susan Collins (R-ME) • Senator Joni Ernst (R-IA) • Representative Betty McCollum (D-MN-04) • Senator Lisa Murkowski (R-AK) • Senator Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH) •
Representative Jackie Speier (D-CA-14) • Representative Elise Stefanik (R-NY-21) • Senator Elizabeth Warren (D-MA)



Platinum Sponsor ($25,000+)

Silver Sponsor ($5,000-$9,999)


                    MaryKay-logo-BlackBox.png   2018 Logo.jpg

Bronze Sponsor ($2,500-$4,999)


Role Model ($1,000-$2,499)

Marianne Alexander Cori Asaka Pratel • Elizabeth Bartz • Caitlin Donahue† • Lisa Kaenzig* • Vanessa Kermick† • Shelby Olson† • Meredith Singer† • Ellie Shaw† • Lynn Smith Fox • Lisa D. T. Rice†



Leadership Circle ($500-$999)

Esther Barrazzone • Lara Brown • Rachna Choudhry† • Carol T. Christ • Taylor Craig • Mary Catherine Conroy • Margaret Darling*† • Nancy Dietz • Luther College PLEN Alumnae • Shaila Manyam • Sally McDaniel • Veryl Miles • Georgia Nugent • Heidi Schoenberger-Cobert • Barbara A. Shailor • Briana Thibeau • Jona Van Deun*† • Lynda K. Walker, Esq.†


*denotes PLEN alumna
†denotes PLEN Board Member